The IBC James D. Cooper student paper competition is open to college and university engineering students in the United States and worldwide.

The winning paper will receive a $1,000 Fellowship, complimentary conference registration, hotel and travel allowances to attend the 32nd Annual IBC, June 7-11, 2015, in Pittsburgh, PA. Additionally, the winning paper will be considered for inclusion in the published proceedings and for presentation at the conference.

Student competition papers should fall within one of the IBC Technical Session Topics listed here. Papers prepared for other purposes (thesis, projects, etc.) are acceptable; previously published work cannot be accepted. Manuscripts are limited to ten (10) pages, single spaced, with 12 point text (no exceptions). Papers must be authored only by students; papers co-authored by faculty advisors are not eligible. Papers will be judged by an international committee of engineers and academics.

Student competition papers must be submitted no later than March 31, 2015. Entries must be submitted in Adobe PDF format to Cori Weber and must be accompanied by the Entry Form.

Winning entries will be notified in April/May, 2015. Invitations to present or submit for proceedings will also be made at this time.

The Student Paper Awards Committee reserves the right to not make an award.

Inquiries regarding the student paper competition may be directed here.


Previous Winners:

2012: Zachary B. Haber, (University of Nevada at Reno) Seismic Performance of Emulative Precast Bridge Column Elements with Grouted Coupler Connections

2011: Behrouz Shafei (University of California at Irvine) A Novel Vulnerability Index for Design of RC Bridges Subjected to Seismic Hazards and Environmental Stressors

2010: Sarira Motaref (University of Nevada at Reno) Seismic Performance of Precast Bridge Columns with Energy Dissipating Joints.

2009: Michael Loy (Oregon Episcopal High School) Developing a Novel pH Buffer Methodology to Inhibit Concrete Corrosion

2008: Woo Soek Kim (Pennsylvania State University) Simplified Nonlinear Numerical Method for Integral Abutment Bridges

2007: Jessica Newlin and K. Sham Bhat (Pennsylvania State University) Identification and Prioritization of Stream Channel Maintenance Needs at Bridge Crossings.

2006: Seung Dae Kim, Chi Won In and Kelly Cronin (Carnegie Mellon University) A Reference-free Debonding Monitoring Technique for CFRP Strengthened RC Structures Using Active Sensing.